Decadent raspberry swirls.

Decadent raspberry swirls.

My favorite dessert in the whole world is this white chocolate cheesecake from the Olive Garden.  No, I don’t go to the Olive Garden that often, but the few times I have, this dessert has left an impression.  I decided that I needed to re-create this masterpiece and set out looking for recipes.

I will admit, I was scared.  I had NEVER made a cheesecake before, but I wasn’t about to make the basic version and work my way up, I needed a white chocolate raspberry cheesecake and nothing else would suffice.  I compared tons of recipes looking for a grouping of ingredients that would spell success, and enough instruction to get me there.

Finally I came across the recipe with great reviews that would soon become my own.  My own Perfect White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake.

cheesecake02

As I began dutifully reading the comments and suggestions, anxiety and confusion swept over me.  People are very opinionated about the “proper way” to bake a cheesecake, and the consequences of not doing so seem to be perilous!

After my research I decided to make the following changes to the basic recipe:

First, The crust on bottom I made entirely from crushed up Oreos and half a stick of melted butter.  I mashed up all of the Oreos and butter together with a potato masher, then pressed it into the bottom of my spring form pan.

Rather than make the raspberry sauce from scratch, I purchased seedless raspberry jam and used it instead.  (I also doubled the amount used and saved some for a great topping).

Finally, I would preheat the oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit and after putting the cheesecake in, reduce it to 250.  After the cheesecake had baked for 1.5 hours, I turned the oven off,  but left the cheesecake inside to SLOWLY cool down.  (Apparently this reduces cracks and cave-ins).

cheesecake03

With all of these adjustments in place, I made my first cheesecake.  I guess the pictures are a bit of a spoiler!  It turned out WELL.  I must tell you, I was VERY surprised, but I must have beginners luck!  I recommend this cheesecake to all of you, it was absolutely amazing!

Have you ever made a cheesecake?  What are you experiences?  Do tell.  I’m dying to hear.

 

 

 

About Karen Sofie

I love sewing, knitting, cooking, and creating.

Leave a Reply

