sparklinggingercookie01

Growing up, my mom didn’t bake much, so that meant I didn’t either.  When I was 22, I decided I would try being Vegan, but that meant all those frozen and ready-made foods weren’t available to me any more, and I had to learn to make everything for myself.  In this way, I learned to cook and bake.  I learned without the use of butter, eggs, or milk.  (The STAPLES of baking).  And while I’m not Vegan anymore, my first experiences of baking have stayed with me, and many of my favorite recipes still come from my favorite cookbook, Vegan with a Vengeance, by Isa Chandra Moskowitz.

Rolling them in raw sugar.

Rolling them in raw sugar.

Years ago, when I was experimenting with baking, I made her Sparkling Ginger Cookies, and they were an instant hit!  My mom loves them, and every year around Christmas she begins asking me (read:begging me) to make them.  With plenty of ginger, cinnamon, and cloves, these cookies are a spicy-sweet delight.  To this day, I have been unable to find a better ginger cookie (vegan or NOT).  The recipes from this book have continued to permeate my kitchen even though I am now a full-fledged carnivore.

The wet ingredients looked artistic...

The wet ingredients…

Give them a try.  You won’t be disappointed!

What recipes do you make for the holidays?  Please share your stories! 🙂

About Karen Sofie

I love sewing, knitting, cooking, and creating.

Leave a Reply

