IMAG0612

Whenever I find I hat pattern that I really like, I seem to always make a bunch of them.  I guess there is something oddly satisfying about a meditative project that knits up quickly.  After making a hat once, I always feel like the second time would be much faster and easier, and then the third time is even better than that!

The first hat I really loved was the Star Crossed Slouchy Beret.  After making one for myself, I ended up making one for both of my sisters, my mother, my boss, my best friend, some random guys from work, etc. etc.  I couldn’t seem to stop making them!  One day, I was half-way through another for myself and I decided I was DONE.  No more hats.  Time to move on.

That was 2 years ago, but this year, I seem to be a hat factory all over again.  In September I started making the Boardwalk hat and made 10+ total, including the gifts for my family and others.  Sometimes I would make the hat with the recommended worsted weight, but more often than not, I chose a delicate sock yarn that left the hat lacey and beautiful.

IMAG0613DSCN0826

I was enjoying sock weight yarn so much, that when I began selfish knitting I chose to knit the Hermione hearts Ron hat.  Before I knew it, I was finished and already casting on another!  This hat knits up so beautifully and fits my head perfectly.  I wonder if I will eventually make 10+ of these as well?…

DSCN0811DSCN0809

Do you ever find patterns that you love to knit again and again?  Why is it that a knitting pattern that is easily memorized is so zen?  Am I just crazy for being a “hat factory” or do you find yourself in the same position?  Please share, I’m dying to hear what you have to say on the subject!

Until next time, dear readers! 🙂

DSCN0805

About Karen Sofie

I love sewing, knitting, cooking, and creating.

2 responses »

  1. andresue says:

    Love it! And, I can relate. For a while, I was a sock factory and knit lots and lots of toe-up socks. Once I had the basic formula down, it was almost a compulsive behavior. I have an entire drawer stuffed full of hand knitted socks, and so does my husband… and both of my children.

    • Karen Sofie says:

      Andresue, I am so glad you relate! And a “compulsion” is what it truly is. And yet so meditative! I have never knit socks, but I’m sure once I do, it will become obsessive for me too!

Leave a Reply

