Image

Oh readers, I have missed you!  This week has been crazy, and my crafting life has hit many obstacles in the last week.  When I last wrote, I was preparing to sew two beautiful Colette Patterns, and yet the progress I have made has been minimal. 

When I was preparing to cut the fabric for the Meringue skirt, a giant blue ink stain appeared on my white polka dot fabric!  I was so shocked and dismayed that I completed avoided it for days, and worried I may have to purchase new fabric since the stain was right in the middle of where I would cut out.  But after calming my nerves, I did a bit of research online and found out that ink stains can be removed using nail polish remover!  Sure enough, I was able to gently dab the stain away using this method and then began to work on my skirt. 

I purchased an invisible zipper foot on Ebay and it is absolutely amazing!  I usually struggle (like most people) to put in a zipper, and it NEVER looks right, but this zipper went in beautifully and was a piece of cake!  The wonderful scalloped edge is done by adding a facing, and the top as well.  I added a lining because the fabric is white, and voila!  I have finished it almost completely!  After I hand-sew the facings with a catch stitch, I will be done, but I couldn’t wait to show you…So here it is!

Image

ImageImage

About Karen Sofie

I love sewing, knitting, cooking, and creating.

2 responses »

  1. MilleStelle says:

    Pretty 🙂
    That’s a good tip about the ink removal, I shall remember that.
    Does the book teach you how to make a lining or do you have to know?

Leave a Reply

