momhat03momhat02

For Christmas I knit my mom and sisters hats and matching fingerless mitts.  Above is my mother modeling her hat in teal.  I asked my mom and sisters early on what colors they wanted for “mystery holiday knitting.”  My mom and sister Kirsten both wanted teal/turquoise, but I chose a saturated color for my mom (Heritage Sock Yarn by Cascade Yarns) and a soft color way for my sister (Mini Mochi).

DSCN0671DSCN0669

The pattern I chose for the hat is Elizabeth Pedersen’s Boardwalk hat.  I took some liberties with the yarn and used sock yarn to make it look lacier!  The mitts are my own design (my first!) and I used the lace pattern from the hat to make them match.  Aren’t they cute?

kirstenkelseymomhat01

I’ve been keeping these items a secret for so long, it was driving me CRAZY!  I’m so glad to see them with the loved-ones I made them for!

DSCN0616

 

About Karen Sofie

I love sewing, knitting, cooking, and creating.

4 responses »

  1. lagrancostanza says:

    The hat is pretty and I love the colour! And your design on the mitts is awesome. Lately I’ve been thinking of doing my own designs as well, but I’m still kind of afraid I’m going to mess it up.

    • Karen Sofie says:

      Thanks. 🙂 This being my first design, I was really scared too! I still haven’t written out any instructions for it, and that part is really making me nervous, but I’ve made the Mitts 4 times now and really feel comfortable with the design, at least. I think just jumping in there and trying is the most important part. What’s the worst that could happen?

  2. craftcastic says:

    This was my first design, and I really just took elements from other things I had made and put them together. That made it much easier!

  3. […] cast on two projects for myself.  First, the Hermione Hearts Ron hat with my leftover yarn from my mom’s hat and fingerless mitts.  I decided to start this hat because the cable and lace pattern will make it stretchy and soft, […]

Leave a comment